State redistricting changes

S.L. 2021-173 Senate

The North Carolina Legislature recently passed new maps for the N.C. House and Senate, as well as a new Congressional map placing Montgomery County in a new House and Senate district once again. Several court cases have been filed opposing the new maps, so it will be some time before the public will know for sure what district they are in.

As currently drawn, Montgomery County will be a part of N.C. Senate District 29, which encompasses all of Montgomery, Richmond and Anson counties, also approximately half of Randolph County and a small portion of Union County. Tom McInnis currently represents what is the majority of that area; however, McInnis recently told The Pilot that he would make a second home in Pinehurst his permanent home so that he could continue to represent that area. Senator David Craven currently represents Randolph County and is expected to run for the seante in this newly aligned district. 

To read the full edition see the November 17th edition of the Montgomery Herald